Gamecocks land four on All-ASUN team

23 Nov. After finishing first in the ASUN Conference football standings and winning league games by an average of 19 points, Jacksonville State placed four players on its 31-member all-league team.

North Alabama, which finished last in the standings with an 0-5 record, also fielded four players. Only Kennesaw State has represented with two fewer players.

The Gamecocks who made the All-ASUN squad included second-year tight end Sean Brown, second-year center Treylen Brown, second-year defensive lineman J-Rock Swain, and senior linebacker Stevonte Tullis. Swain and Sean Brown also made the all-conference team last season.

The league’s coaches voted on the squad. Ties resulted in an offensive team of 14 members, a defensive team of 12 players and a specialized team of four players.

JSU’s Rich Rodriguez was not named Coach of the Year, even though the Gamecocks finished first after being selected fourth in the ASUN coaches preseason poll. That honor went to East Kentucky’s Walt Wells, after the Colonels went 7-4 and received a bid for the FCS playoffs. Wells suffered a heart attack in late August, but returned to the sidelines after missing just two games.

Rodriguez was named to the list of 16 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, which is presented to the Football Championship Subdivision national team manager of the year. The finalists were announced on Monday. No other ASUN coach has made it to that list.

ASUN attack on all conferences

Q: Parker McKinney #, Eastern Kentucky, Jr., Coalfield, Tenn.

RB: *ShunDerrick Powell, North Alabama, So., Hoxie, Ark.

RB: *Darius Hale#, Central Arkansas, So., Pearland, Texas

WR: Drae McCray, Austin Peay, So., Tallahassee, Fla.

WR: Jarrod Barnes, Central Arkansas, Jr., Cabot, Ark.

TE: Dakota Allen, Eastern Kentucky, Sr., Lebanon, Ohio

TE: Sean Brown#, Jacksonville State, So., Rome, Ga.

TE: Corson Swan, North Alabama, Sr., Spanish Fort, Ala.

OL: Chandler Kirton, Austin Peay, Fr., Atlantic Beach, Fla.

OL: Jaylin Hendrix#, Central Arkansas, Sr., Everman, Texas

OL: Payton Collins#, Eastern Kentucky, So., Columbus, Ohio

OL: Fau Tai’Vai, North Alabama, So., Melbourne, Australia

C: Treylen Brown, Jacksonville State, So., Spartanburg, SC

C: Cameron Watson, North Alabama, Sr., Madison, Miss.

ASUN all-conference defense

DL: David Walker, Central Arkansas, So., Stuttgart, Ark.

DL: Logan Jessup#, Central Arkansas, Jr., Wynne, Ark.

DL: TK McLendon, Eastern Kentucky, Sr., Soperton, Ga.

DL: Jaylen “J-Rock” Swain #, Jacksonville State, So., Oxford, Ala.

LB: *Matthew Jackson#, Eastern Kentucky, Sr., Nashville, Tenn.

LB: Antoine Williams, Austin Peay, So., Birmingham, Ala.

LB: Stevonte Tullis#, Jacksonville State, Sr., Dothan, Ala.

DB: Demetries Ford, Austin Peay, So., South Miami, Fla.

DB: Shamari Simmons, Austin Peay, Jr., Ashland, Ala.

DB: Cameron Godfrey#, Central Arkansas, So., Spring, Texas

DB: Tamuarion Wilson, Central Arkansas, So., Bryant, Ark.

DB: Deontre Morris, Kennesaw State, So., Atlanta, Ga.

ASUN all-conference specialists

K: Maddux Trujillo, Austin Peay, So., Flowery Branch, Ga.

P: Matthew Rigney, Austin Peay, Jr., Newcastle, Australia

P: Chandler Caughron#, Central Arkansas, So., Memphis, Tenn.

RS: Gabriel Benyard, Kennesaw State, So., Ocilla, Ga.

*: Indicates unanimous selection

#: Denotes a two-way selection for the all-ASUN team

Managing Editor Mark Edwards: 256-235-3570. On Twitter: @MarkSportsStar.

Leave a Comment