College Football Team Eligibility Tracker for 2022-23 Bowl Games

Heartland College Sports will be updating this page every week for the remainder of the 2022 FBS season as teams become bowl eligible.

The TCU Horned Frogs became the first Big 12 team to be bowl-eligible after beating Oklahoma State in Week 7. The Oklahoma State Cowboys became the second Big 12 team to be bowl-eligible after beating Texas in week 8. Kansas State became the third Big 12 team to bowl when it beat Oklahoma State in week 9. Baylor, Kansas and Texas all won a bowl game in week 10. Texas Tech and Oklahoma won a bowl game at week 12.

Iowa State and West Virginia are the only Big 12 teams not eligible for a bowl game.

To be eligible for a bowl for an FBS team, it must:

Win at least six games;

Have a minimum winning percentage of .500;

Only one win can be won against an FCS opponent.

It takes a total of 82 teams to fill the seats in the 41 bowl games, including the two national semifinals, the Peach Bowl and the Fiesta Bowl.

As of Thanksgiving Day, there were 74 bowl-eligible teams.

2022 bowl-eligible teams

American athletics (7): Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, Tulane, UCF

ACC (9): Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Louisville, North Carolina, NC State, Pitt, Syracuse, Wake Forest

Big 12 (8): Baylor, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech

Big Ten (9): Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin

Conference USA (4): Middle Tennessee, North Texas, UTSA, West Kentucky

Central American (5): Bowling Green, Eastern Michigan, Miami (OH), Ohio, Toledo

mountain west (6): Air Force, Boise State, Fresno State, San Diego State, San Jose State, Wyoming

Pac-12 (7): Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA, USC, Utah, Washington, Washington State

SEC (10): Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee

Sunband (5): Appalachian State, Coastal Carolina, Marshall, South Alabama, Troy

Independents (4): BYU, Liberty, Notre Dame, UConn

Total teams: 73

Better luck next year

The following teams have been eliminated for bowl eligibility, having lost at least seven games (37): Arizona, Arizona State, Arkansas State, Akron, Ball State, Boston College, California, Central Michigan, Charlotte, Colorado, Colorado State, Florida International, Georgia State, Hawaii, Indiana, Kent State, Louisiana Tech, Nebraska, Navy, Nevada, New Mexico, Northern Illinois, Northwestern, Old Dominion, Rutgers, Stanford, Temple, Texas A&M, Texas State, Tulsa, UL-Monroe , UMass , USF, Virginia, Virginia Tech, West Virginia, West Michigan.

Remark: James Madison has enough wins to qualify for a bowl game. But because the Dukes are switching from FCS, they are ineligible for postseason games.

Leave a Comment